top of page
  • admin146298

Reiki: What Is It and What Are Its 5 Principles?

Reiki is a form of energy healing that originated in Japan. It is based on the idea that an unseen life force flows through all living things and that this life force can be harnessed to promote healing. Reiki practitioners use their hands to channel this life force energy, which they believe can promote relaxation, reduce stress, and boost the body's natural ability to heal itself.

The 5 Principles of Reiki

There are five basic principles of Reiki that are taught to all students of this healing modality.

1. “Just for Today, I Will Not Worry” (Stress)

Dealing with stress, the first principle of Reiki, aims to address anything we may feel worried about. This principle helps to focus the mind on the present moment, let go of any concerns, and reminds us that there is more to life than the things we worry about.

To live by this principle, it is helpful just to give yourself a break. Allow yourself moments of serenity in your life where you just enjoy what is in front of you or with you without thinking about what will come next. This does not mean you should forget about consequences; rather, it means that you should not have to nitpick at what has not happened yet.

2. “Just for Today, I Will Not Anger” (Resentment)

This principle helps to let go of any anger or resentment that may be causing disharmony in the body. Sometimes, we get hurt by certain circumstances or occurrences in our lives. However, holding on to that anger will bring us nothing but distress in our lives.

To let go of the anger we hold, it is important to learn to forgive yourself and the other people around you. Even if no apologies have been made, you must let go of the resentment in your life and accept that some things have just happened the way they did.

3. “Just for Today, I Will Do My Work Honestly” (Truth)

The third principle is about focusing on doing our best in all that we do and being honest with ourselves and others. When we live our daily lives honestly, we let go of the burdens of being who we are not. Instead, we allow ourselves to just be on this path of what we need to do with bearing responsibilities that aren't ours.

For this principle, we must remind ourselves of who we are and our duties. While we would like to help others out, we must also focus on our responsibilities and do them with all our hearts and in all honesty.

4. “Just for Today, I Will Be Kind to Every Living Thing” (Compassion)

Some days, we may grow impatient with other people or creatures, such as our pets. Running out of patience is normal, but if we choose to project these feelings onto others, we merely extend the pain and struggle.

Every day, it is encouraged that we choose to be kind. Before we say or do anything to others, give yourself a few seconds to think whether what you would do is compassionate.

5. “Just for Today, I Will Be Grateful for All the Wonderful Things in My Life” (Gratitude)

Sometimes we become so caught up with all the hardships in our lives that we forget to be grateful. Sometimes, just stopping to say thanks can significantly impact our lives.

To practice gratitude regularly, give yourself a few minutes of your day to be thankful. Be grateful for both major and small things in your life and it will make you appreciate your life even more.


When we live by these five principles, we can help to create more balance and harmony in our lives. Try practising Reiki and see how it impacts your life positively.

Are you looking to practice reiki in Australia? Come visit us at Optimum Body Therapy. We offer massage therapy, reiki energy healing, and energy kinesiology. Our space in Mernda is flocked by various clients who want to achieve a holistic journey to healing. Get in touch with us and book an appointment!

1,566 views0 comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page